Benefit Cap is de facto abuse – Please read

I have said the reducing overall benefit cap is abuse and not just abusive because it makes children pay for the ‘sins’ of the parent.  It is much much worse than that and the reality is truly horrifying.

The majority of benefit-capped households are headed by lone parents who are SHIT SCARED to seek help over it as they believe that social services will take the kids off them!

The likelihood that social services will not take the kids is very high yet it still doesn’t stop the stressed to death lone parent from believing they will take the kids.  Their perception is I can’t even provide a roof over my children’s heads therefore I am not a fit parent so the kids will be taken off me!

This is one of the early and consistent findings of the Benefit Cap reducing by a massive cut of £500 per month in the regions – the £20,000 per year new cap – and the scale of that cut which makes eviction inevitable and quickly too with its average £330 per month cut in Housing Benefit.

Aside from my time immemorial rants over the Benefit Cap policy and what it means I am in regular contact with the plethora of media sources in newsprint, radio and TV on a local and national scale as well as in regular contact with a large number of mostly grassroots activists and advice agencies and with a number of benefit-capped tenants or soon to be capped tenants directly.

This perception is very real and so common to become prevalent and it comes from all of the above named sources not just some of them!

I just do not have the words to say how I feel about this as angry, outraged and all the usual words are nowhere near enough to describe.

I have written many rants over those who could have challenged this policy or even raised awareness of it yet havent done so.  To say much more will only see my calling all of them, correctly, spineless incompetent gobshites at every turn.

That’s every political party bar none. That is every social (sic) landlord bar none. That is every directly affected lobby group such as Shelter, Gingerbread and Save the Children et al lobbies for homeless, lone parents and children… bar none!

Has the public become inured to my regularly saying its children for fuck sake? If so they too are spineless gobshites….

___________________

If you are a tenant affected, an activist or campaigner who would like to support those affected in your area, in fact anyone affected by or concerned with the Benefit Cap can contact me in confidence at benefitcap@outlook.com.

 

10 thoughts on “Benefit Cap is de facto abuse – Please read

  1. WELL SAID. YES I USE CAPITAL LETTS TO EMPHASIZE MY COMMENTS/ VIEWS. MY LANGUAGE WOULD BE FAR MORE EXCESSIVE THAN YOURS. THIS GOVENMENT HAS NO POILTICAL WILL OR CARE, NO HIGH PRINCIPLES, HIGH MORALS OR HIGH ETHICAL VALUES. THEY ARE A BUNCH OF AMOEBAS….. THEY ALL SHARE 1 BRAIN CELL [ NOT FUNCTIONAL]. GET THEM OUT. THEY HAVE MORE THICK SKIN BETWEEN THEM THAN 8000 RHINOCEROUS STOOD SIDE BY SIDE. I COULD CONTINUE, BUT THESE ” PEOPLE” [AND I USE THE TERM LOOSELY] WASTE THE AIR WE BREATH.

  2. I can agree with everything you say, I can express the same opinions about the policy, the political parties, and the likes of Shelter, but I have no power to change government policy, or house the half a million homeless caused by the policy, so what can I actually do to change the situation? I don’t know about other people, but I am looking on in astonishment at what is happening in housing benefit policy and feeling totally powerless to change anything. What can concerned individuals legally do to change this situation???

    1. It is akin to the Victorian Workhouse ethic. The 1834 Poor Law Act is resurrected. Charles Dickens ” A Christmas Carole” Character. Bob Cratchit. No food, no heat etc.

      The UK Govt, AKA Ebenezer Scrooge, BUT MINUS THE turn around to become nice & generous. Realising the error of his mean ways

  3. I can’t see anything here to disagree with. Except doing nothing. We are not powerless and it would seem we are spreading better ideas at least. I get the anger and frustration which is a healthy reaction to an unhealthy situation. Then there’s the “It’s only necessary for good peeps to do nothing for evil to triumph”.
    No mistake that is exactly what it is. Evil. Actually I’m effing terrified of the implications.
    thing. But as an Aspergers with co-morbidities I feel the weight of the pain of the homeless path having trodden it. Mulitply that by 1 000 000 and I become a weeping shaking wreck, trying only not to think of harsh fates for nasty peeps and damage my own karma.

    As Joe has said there is no political party, charity or it would appear petition site who will take up the cause –
    zero outrage. Also the public look in favour of this well, outrageous (neo)facist behaviour. However when I talk to individuals they are NOT in favour, they just think they can’t do anything about it.
    Joe or anyone else who reads this can you please sign MY petition – if you agree of course – and spread it?
    It’s the only way I can find that does not look like powerless.
    Joe this is the only way I have found to contact you – you are acknowledged in this petition with links.
    It’s not too late to change it. I think you might like it as is but improvement is not out of the question maybe.
    Some things have been kept in reserve.

    https://you.38degrees.org.uk/petitions/putting-children-first-in-the-uk-the-big-one

  4. Well I feel a little happier now that I can see that there are actually more than half a dozen people in this country who feel physically sick with outrage at this policy. It literally makes my brain feel like it’s been wrung out like a red hot dish cloth when I contemplate the benefit cap. Not a nice comparison, but what else is possible when the average lapper up of government propaganda says re benefit cap: nice one – bring it on! to those (single parents)/KIDS TODDLERS/YOUNGPEOPLE/and wtf **babies** and ****NEONATES ***** and breastfeeding mothers and mothers who actually prefer bottles but actually can’t afford to choose as they can’t afford sma or nappies or Ariel or sudocreme, or lettuce and toast to support their milk supply and you know stress plays havoc with the drop down reflex…

Please leave a Reply

